How to Buy Diamonds

Diamonds: The four C’s
The word “diamond” comes from the Greek root adamas, which means “invincible.” Indeed, diamonds are the hardest natural substance known to man and can only be cut by other diamonds. As such, they symbolize eternity, trust and devotion and are the classic choice for engagement rings. Jewelers judge diamonds on the basis of Four Cs, cut, color, clarity and carat-weight, as explained below:
1. Cut
- Diamonds are cut and faceted to maximize the diffraction and reflection of light—this is what makes them dazzle
- A well-cut stone reflects all the light back towards the viewer, while a poorly cut stone allows some light to escape from the back
- Styles of cut:
- A “brilliant cut” contains 58 facets to maximize the fire and brilliance of the stone
- A “step cut” maximizes color and clarity, but not brilliance because it contains only a few facets
- Mixed cuts like “princess cut” and “cushion cut” combine the best of the brilliant and step cuts
- Styles of cut:
  • - Excellent/ideal, awarded to the top 3% of diamonds
  • - Very good, for the top 15%
  • - Good, for the top 25%
  • - Fair/Poor
2. Color
- The ideal white diamond is absolutely colorless and receives D grade; the least valuable diamond is a noticeable yellow-brown and receives a Z grade
- “Fancy diamonds” refer to yellow, red, pink and blue diamonds; unlike the classic stones, fancy diamonds increase in value with increasing color saturation
- Some colored diamonds occur naturally, but most are treated
- Most of Angara’s colored diamonds have been enhanced, but our regular diamonds and “natural colored diamonds” are treatment-free
3. Clarity
- Clarity refers to the number and size of natural imperfections in a stone
- Grading clarity
- Diamonds are graded from “Included” to “Flawless” depending on how many inclusions are visible at 10X magnification
- When a stone is said to be “eye clean” it means that no flaws can be seen without the aid of a magnifier; in other words, they look clean to the naked eye
  F, IF     Flawless, internally flawless
  VVS1, VVS2     Very, very slightly included
  VS1, VS2     Very slightly included
  SI1, SI2     Slightly included
  I1, I2, I3     Included
4. Carat-weight
- One carat is 1/5 of one gram
- The word “carat” comes from “carob seed pod,” which was historically used to measure a stone’s weight
- Weight is not the only factor to consider when thinking about size
- Keep in mind that a round-brilliant diamond of 1 carat may look smaller than a pear-cut diamond of 1 carat because it has smaller dimensions when viewed top-down
Author : Ankit Daga